enjoying the journey…

Standard

So often we are frazzled, excited, or overwhelmed by the next big thing we are going to be or do…drive a car, get married, buy a house, have kids, re-do a room, a vacation and so on.  The problem is that sometimes we forfeit the joys of the journey for the emptiness of expectations.  What if you spent a month preparing for something and the day before it was supposed to happen you died?  Maybe you spent that whole month pushing off other better things, ignored your husband, spent too much time worrying, was easily irritable and so on…if you knew that was the only month you had left to live, would you have done things the way you did? 

Well, in preparing for a possible move in the next couple months I have had some time to dwell on this idea of enjoying the journey.  I have had moments where I’ve been so caught up in future possibilities that I stopped living in the moment.  I still have a family to care for, a husband to love, people to serve and my God to love and obey!  I have learned that I need to guard my heart against sucking out the joy of today in pursuit of tomorrow.

Matthew 6:34 says “Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own”

So, what is it that we are looking forward to that’s causing us to neglect or destroy today?

Let’s together decide we aren’t going to forfeit the journey…whether it’s the car ride to the grocery store or a flight to another country…TODAY let’s be kind, tender-hearted, merciful, blessing others, enjoying this so called blah-say laundry washing, kid-meltdown, dirty floor, sick, tired, in-between, less than average day!!!

The world says the next new thing, idea, place is going to make us happy.  NOPE!  I disagree!  I would say it’s three things:  TRUST, CONTENTMENT and GRATITUDE! 

PROVERB 3:5-6

Trust in the Lord with all your heart
    and lean not on your own understanding;
 in all your ways submit to him,
    and he will make your paths straight.

Nobody is guaranteed tomorrow so let’s live in today!Image

One response »

  1. LOL throw “having a baby” on your list of things people look so forward to that they neglect the stage they’re in!! I’ve been noticing this in myself as well… I SOOO looked forward to college, and then marriage, and then pregnancy, and now a baby… what about a year ago when all I wanted was to be pregnant and thought that would be so wonderful? Now all I want is the next step… I laugh with Charlie because if I can’t learn to be content and keep insisting on the next exciting thing, we’re going to end up with more kids than we can count! So I’m trying to enjoy the last month and a half of time with just Charlie and I, where we’re less tied down and can do things… and it’s where God has us now. So I just thought I’d say, ditto here! 🙂 Good reminder to be content where we’re at. I’m reading a really good book on contentment – Calm My Anxious Heart – I’m about 4 chapters in and it’s REALLY encouraging… she told this story of a woman who’s mother was a missionary in Africa, and the daughter would tell how the mom would never complain about the heat or diseases etc., and in her diary they found her rules of contentment:

    Never complain
    Never picture yourself in a different situation than God has you now
    Never wish you had someone else’s lot

    Cant remember the fourth one… lol. Anyways, it was really helpful in a lot of areas in my life to stop daydreaming, not even always about someone else’s situation, but even about our future situation.. sufficient for today are the troubles thereof. 🙂

Leave a Reply

